The past few days

I’m still waiting on my meds to arrive. It really hasn’t been that long, but I’m actually fairly giddy about ordering drugs from Canada. From what I’ve read it’s more common than we’d think and only moderately bordering on the illegal side of things. The US *IS* currently doing FDA testing, but it’s still a few years off for this decades old drug to be approved here.

In the mean time, I’m tired. I’m bordering on cranky most days and really I would be happy to just sleep a few days running. All of the articles say fatigue is a mild side effect of Vimpat, but to be honest it really puts a hamper on my day-to-day life. I never want to be awake, and I could generally fall asleep just about anywhere. Oh golly that’s fun!

I still hope the NIH gets me in for the case study soon. I’d like to move along towards surgical intervention. I’m tired of seizures, and I’m tired of being tired. I’d love to go back to living a normal life.

I got a bike, mainly so I can get to and from places and have a bit less dependence on others. At least this way I can get to & from the co-op and get some vegetables as needed. No need to beg for car rides. That is definitely a major bonus. One issue is that the bike is a one speed with cruiser brakes. Funny how much that matters in a very hilly city.

Otherwise life is much the same. Caroline is working hard towards her goal to be fit & ready for the NYC Marathon in November. You can read about her training at her blog. If you’re interested in donating to make research a bit more possible, check out our donation site at the Epilepsy Foundation All money will go to research to help treatment options.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. runcazrun
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 14:27:56

    You’re so brave cycling those hills, not sure even my legs could do that!
    Sorry to hear you’re so tiredy… I’ll be joining you soon as training reaches peak. Want me to send you some sugar gels – they’re great for a 20-30min rush! woohoo!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention The past few days « Meg's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

  • Meg
  • Reid B. Kimball

Archives

