The day after

I’m not going to lie… I cried a lot yesterday. As I stalked my best friend on my iPhone as she ran the race, watching her every meeting point, I cried. I jumped up and cheered as she crossed the finish line. I wish I was more stable. I wish I could be there for her. I wish, I wish, I wish. But as that old saying goes “wish in one hand, shit in the other, see which gets filled first”, wishing doesn’t change much.

Caroline understands, and she’s always been supportive. I just feel like an awful friend, not being there screaming at her & for her. Maybe next time I’ll bring a vuvuzela and tick off everyone.

So, the reality is, how many of you have friends that will run (literally) one mile for you?  I’ve got a best friend that will fly across oceans and run 26 miles for me.  Pretty much, I’ve got the best-est best friend ever.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phil
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 11:09:50

    Good people have good friends.

    Reply

  2. junewilliams7
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:17:43

    I can’t run, but I would walk one mile for you as long as it’s a flat surface with no incline. :=)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Meg
  • Reid B. Kimball

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

