Pulling a The David Cook for Charity

I’m friends with a lot of bloggers. Not intentionally so, and it’s not like they’re my OMG BFF FOREVER, but I communicate with them via Twitter, Facebook, Dinner tables… Whatever. I’m not picky. I have this thing for self-promoting-awesomeness. That said, my “friend” Becky (http://www.mommywantsvodka.com) is running a contest for charity. You and I both know that I’m all about charity, and I’m about one charity (and fundraiser for that matter) in particular. That charity? The Epilepsy Foundation. As I’ve said before, the Epilepsy Foundation has done amazing things, and they continue to do so… With your help.

So, I’m going to borrow their words as to what they do…

The Epilepsy Foundation of America® is the national voluntary agency dedicated solely to the welfare of the almost 3 million people with epilepsy in the U.S. and their families. The organization works to ensure that people with seizures are able to participate in all life experiences; to improve how people with epilepsy are perceived, accepted and valued in society; and to promote research for a cure. In addition to programs conducted at the national level, epilepsy clients throughout the United States are served by more than 50 Epilepsy Foundation affiliates around the country.

For those of you who know me, you know how close this issue is to my heart. As a person who is fighting to be free of seizures, and someone who has first hand experienced how little money there is in Epilepsy research (the non-FDA approved drugs I’m taking… Anyone?)  The Epilepsy Foundation seriously needs your help. Even if it’s $1, every penny helps. I’d be happy if you donated through the fundraiser Caroline and I are doing here, but I’d also accept you just giving.

The thing with Epilepsy, it can get anyone. Bike riding accident? Yeah it can get you there. Car accident? Yep, there too. You could be perfectly normal today, but tomorrow you could need expert help to treat your seizures and that help may not be there.

So please. Consider giving.

Other charities that need help (stolen from Aunt Becky) can be found here

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:20:52

    Hi there! Here’s to hoping that the David Cook find the cure that the The Epilepsy Foundation is looking for.

    http://mellamotracy.blogspot.com/2010/09/pulling-david-cook-for-charity-afs.html

    Reply

  2. Miriam Kavanagh
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:30:18

    You make me want to take on the man again. Thanks Meg!

    Reply

  3. Jana
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:56:49

    Love it! The post, not the Epilepsy! I do love the Epilepsy Foundation, though! They rock!

    If you feel like sharing the love, head over to see how I pulled a The David Cook for Group B Strep International

    http://janasthinkingplace.com/2010/09/pulling-a-the-david-cook-for-charity-group-b-strep-international/

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tweets that mention Pulling a The David Cook for Charity « Meg's Blog -- Topsy.com
  5. Trackback: - Mommy Wants Vodka

Leave a Reply

  • Meg
  • Reid B. Kimball

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

